Volunteer Awards And Recognition

District Award of Merit and Silver Beaver Nominations are Due by March 15

The Silver Beaver

The Silver Beaver Award was introduced in 1931 and is a council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Recipients of this award are registered Scouters who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given at the council level. This nomination form must be sent to the local council.

The District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils. The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.


It is not appropriate to nominate a Scouter who has already received this award.

Historical Lists of District Award of Merit Recipients

for both Awards

1. A nominee must be a registered Scouter.

2. A nominee must have rendered noteworthy service to youth in Scouting, outside Scouting, or both.

Note: The nature and value of “noteworthy service to youth” may consist of a single plan, decisions that contributed vitally to the lives of large numbers of youth, or it may have been given to a small group over an extended period of time.

3. Consideration must be given to the nominee’s Scouting position and the corresponding opportunity to render outstanding service beyond the expectations of that Scouting position.

4. Nominations cannot be considered for posthumous awards.

To prevent embarrassment, the candidate should not be notified of this nomination


Scouting Awards

Scouting would not be possible without the hard work and dedication of our volunteers. As such, we find that recognizing those who go above and beyond the call of Scouting is a key priority in our council. Leaders are welcomed to access the links below to see the full list of awards recognized by the National Council, as well as see which fellow volunteers have been honored with some of the Crater Lake Council’s highest awards: the Silver Beaver and the District Award of Merit.

Local Council Awards

It is important for our local volunteers to be recognized for the things they do here for our Scouting community. These are awards that the Crater Lake Council recognizes and looks forward to bestowing to our hardworking volunteers.

Nomination Deadline: May 31st

After your nomination application(s) have been filled, please send them to Jody Stonebrook via email: